Now that the Batman’s out of the bag (and Wonder Woman, too) with Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, it’s time for Warner Bros. to start rounding up the rest of the Justice League for their upcoming ensemble movie. While we already know who will be playing Aquaman and The Flash, one question that remains is who will be playing Green Lantern.

If it were up to Tyrese Gibson, that person would be none other than Tyrese Gibson. The actor has said before that he is “on a mission” to take up the mantle of Green Lantern. Now that Ryan Reynolds has defected to the X-Men movie universe with Deadpool and indicated that he has very little interest in once again putting a ring on it with DC, Gibson’s chances are better than ever. But is he really in contention?

According to Gibson, the answer is yes. In the interview below with Larry King (via comicbook.com), Gibson says that he has met with Warner Bros. about the role, and while he hasn’t heard back yet, he’s still holding out hope. He also explained how the whole campaign began with someone posting fan art of him as Green Lantern on the Internet, and how his reaction might have actually hurt his chances for the role:

“I was like, ‘Woah, that looks cool.’ And I posted it on my Instagram, and it just went crazy — over 1,500 sites. And it was just all of this buzz, and I was like I might as well run with this thing. And I did. Pissed the people off, a little bit, at Warner Bros. because they thought that I had convinced the world that I had landed the role, which I didn’t. And I said, ‘If you go down my timeline, at no point did I say the role is mine.’ But, you know, there have been other artists, actors and actresses who have put up images of them as a comic book character and ended up landing a role. So I was like, it’s worth giving it a shot.”

King then asked if Gibson had heard back from Justice League director Zack Snyder, and Gibson replied that he hadn’t, but “I did meet with Warner Bros., though” and that “I got the muscles for it. I can do 1,500 push-ups right now.” So if the number of push-ups he can do is a good indicator of whether or not he is going to get the role, then Gibson does indeed have a solid shot.

Gibson has proven that he can handle action movies with his role in the Fast and Furious franchise, and being a known quantity is always a big plus for getting cast in a big budget movie like Justice League. Whether or not he has the screen presence to portray one of DC’s biggest superheroes is up for debate, but if he doesn’t get the role it certainly won’t be for lack of trying.

Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice is now playing in U.S. theaters. Suicide Squad will arrive on August 5, 2016, followed by Wonder Woman on June 23, 2017; Justice League Part One on November 17, 2017; The Flash on March 16, 2018; Aquaman on July 27, 2018; Shazam on April 5, 2019; Justice League Part Two on June 14, 2019; Cyborg on April 3, 2020; and Green Lantern Corps. on June 19, 2020.

Source: comicbook.com